Skip to main content

Age-Related Resources: Library Databases

This guide is a compilation of audiovisual, print, electronic and online materials about the topic of age that are available at the Harper College Library. Also included in this guide are links to the library's subscription databases that are most useful.

Accessing Databases

These databases may be accessed via any Internet connection. 

If accessing the database from off-campus you will be required to sign on. Your user name and password are the same as your student portal user name and password.

Subscription databases are available to Harper College students and employees.

 

Database Search Terms

  • age
  • aged
  • ageism
  • age difference-s
  • age discrimination
  • aging
  • baby boom generation
  • baby boomer-s
  • elder-s
  • elderly
  • generation x
  • geriatric
  • gerontology
  • juvenile-s
  • longevity
  • middle age-d
  • old age
  • old people
  • older adult-s
  • older people
  • rights of children
  • senior-s
  • senior citizen-s
  • teen-s
  • teenager-s
  • young
  • young adult-s
  • youth
  • young people

 

Library Databases

If you're looking for journal, magazine, or newspaper articles, the library has several databases with articles on age-related topics. You will also find encyclopedia databases here. To get to the databases, simply click on the "Articles & more..." link on the Library homepage.

Databases are listed in alphabetical order. To view them in subject order, just click on "Sort by Subject" (see image below.) To see a description of, and to access a database, click on the title on the left. The description and link to the database will appear in the box on the right. Once the database shows up in the box, just click on the title to get to the database.

Useful Databases

The databases listed below contain reports and journal, newspaper, encyclopedia, and magazine articles on age-related topics.