Skip to main content

SPE 101: Find Images

All the best resources for you to start your speech, all in one location.

Citing Images

If you are using images in presentations, reports or any other work, you will need to cite the image! 

See below for sample citations in APA.

Images (Online)

Author or Artist if available. (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of Work]. Retrieved from URL of website

Netter, F. (2005). Heart [Electronic illustration]. Retrieved from
www.usip.edu/museum/netter_detail3.htm

APA Manual pp. 209-210

Images (No Author, No Title, No Date)

[Description of image]. (n.d.). [Type of Work]. Retrieved from URL of website

[Untitled image of a chest]. (n.d.). [X-ray photogrtaph]. Retrieved from
http://www.heartfailurematters.org/EN/UnderstandingHeartFailure/Pages/ 174.aspx

APA Manual pp. 209-210

Citing in MLA? Check the examples on the library's Citation Page.

Image Copyright

Using images that are copied from elsewhere in academic papers or projects and which are available to only a limited classroom or conference audience, falls within the scope of fair use and does not typically require permission or waiver from the copyright holder.  However, they must always be cited. 

The DIRC program will help you assess whether your use of any given image falls under legal fair use.  The program functions through a series of query pages, each of which directs the user to provide input about one specific aspect of a given image’s rights profile.

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC)

Find Images Using Library Databases

ARTstor

Artstor is a collection of 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.  The collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

CARLI Digital Collections

This is an institutional repository for digital content created by the 80+ member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).  It includes a wealth of local images from Illinois and its colleges and universities.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA currently contains over 4.5 million works, bringing together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.   You can browse highlighted exhibitions, explore images by region or state or by date.  You can also search by topic, creator or title of a given work.

Find Images on the Web

ALA Digital Images Collection Guide
A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning 85 subjects, including 950 digital collections
A comprehensive list of online art image collections.
Includes over 300,000 images from over 50 collections from Museums, Universities and private collections throughout the world.  Highlights cartography, fine arts, architecture, photography and other collections as well.
Most of the images in the linked collections include images with a variety of less restrictive licensing.
A resource of free and fair-use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.   Collections are sorted by period and by region or culture.
World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view.
Some of these resources have a mix of public domain and copyrighted photos. Make sure you check before using.
The Smithsonian Institute's collection of images from the more than 1.5 million books and manuscripts held at the Smithsonian Institute Libraries.
Google's online image search engine.
Image*After
Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from this site and use it in your own work.
LACMA Image Library
Los Angeles County Museum of Art's collection of images of works that are public domain and available at high resolution, free of charge and without restriction. Copyright restrictions are clearly indicated underneath each image along with full citation information.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
This page lists resources for high-quality public domain photographs.
Includes over 18 million freely usable media files contributed by individual users throughout the world.
World Digital Library
Provides significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.  WDL may be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution or can be searched in several languages.