LibGuides: History: Reference Material

Reference Resources

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Encyclopædia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Membership also includes access to research tools, Merriam-Webster’s dictionary and thesaurus, and rich multimedia.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window A site tour of Historical Statistics of the United States includes viewing selected tables and essays, searching, and more.
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window Bloomsbury Cultural History is an interactive online resource providing students, researchers, and scholars with exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s ground-breaking Cultural Histories series. Comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections Bloomsbury Cultural History presents essential content within a single, fully cross-searchable platform.
World at War This link opens in a new window Whether they are investigating how the peace of World War I led to World War II or comparing U.S. involvement in Southeast Asia with the Iraq War, this database from ABC-CLIO helps students develop a deeper critical understanding of conflict. War is a turning point, changing the lives of leaders as well as ordinary families and citizens. Whether fighting for independence, forging alliances, or defeating a global threat, history is shaped when nations go to war. The balanced, expert analysis found in this database models good historical thinking on conflict periods that have defined our world from its earliest beginnings to today, helping researchers draw connections between past and present events. Complete with overviews of more than 30 wars, World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society includes timelines, causes and consequences, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts and figures. Researchers, students and teachers can draw from more than 8,000 primary sources, like photos, maps, personal accounts, and video and audio clips.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Salem Press provides a wide variety of reference ebooks on topics such as history, literature, science, health and careers.

History: Reference Material

Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Tutorials