LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Articles

Find Articles

We're all familiar with using our phones to read breaking news or search the web for expeditious information. Leisure searching as such, is an excellent way to discover topics that feed your curiosity and propel you forward into academic research. The Harper College Library provides access to newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly journals, and professional trade publications, all of which are important for college-level research. The databases and tutorials on this page will help you discover the sources needed to succeed on this assignment.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Search Library Collections: Limit to "full text" for online resources.

See the the complete list of library databases here, sort by subject or type.

View tutorials on how to use the library’s most popular databases.

Early Childhood Education: Articles

Find Articles

Chat with a Librarian