LibGuides: Humanities: Find Articles

Find Articles

We're all familiar with using our phones to read breaking news or search the web for expeditious information. Leisure searching as such, is an excellent way to discover topics that feed your curiosity and propel you forward into academic research. The Harper College Library provides access to newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly journals, and professional trade publications, all of which are important for college-level research. The databases and tutorials on this page will help you discover the sources needed to succeed on this assignment.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

One Search / Primo
One-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

English Literature databases

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window The Literature Resource Center on GaleNet is a complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references about 149,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 196,000 titles into one source.

Music databases

Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Naxos Jazz This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Naxos Sheet Music delivers digital sheet music. Library users download and print their own copies of sheet music from our catalog of over 40,000 works.
Naxos Sheet Music This link opens in a new window A catalog of sheet music editions from the world's leading classical music company. Recordings of classical music and its online subscription services. A catalog of violin concertos, music for orchestra and solo piano works.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! Once you subscribe, stream any video in the library from anywhere in the world with an internet connection.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Humanities: Find Articles

Find Articles

English Literature databases

Music databases

What is meant by "scholarly, peer review"?