LibGuides: Fashion Studies: Reference Materials

Reference Materials

This section highlights reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. These resources are broad in scope, so you fill find information relating to the fashion industry. Reference materials provide a high level of understanding on a topic. They are a great first resource to consult - short in length, not too detailed, and easy to understand.

Reference Resources

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Encyclopædia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Membership also includes access to research tools, Merriam-Webster’s dictionary and thesaurus, and rich multimedia.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Salem Press provides a wide variety of reference ebooks on topics such as history, literature, science, health and careers.

Fashion Studies: Reference Materials

Reference Materials

Reference Resources

Tutorials