This section highlights magazine and journal databases. Databases are used to search magazines, journals, and newspapers for articles on the topics you are researching. .
Best databases for searching history topics
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
This link opens in a new windowOmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
GreenFILE
This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Business Source Elite
This link opens in a new windowThis business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
Gale General OneFile
Our largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
Gale OneFile Entrepreneurship
Mapped to four key business stages—plan, fund, start and manage—, this resource covers all major areas of starting and operating a business. Now integrated with G Suite for Education and Microsoft Office 365 tools.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Reference Solutions
Data Axle is the leading source for business and residential data in the United States. Data Axle helps users of all kinds search for jobs, research U.S. businesses, create marketing and small business plans, locate specific people and more.
