Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Education 202: Human Sexuality: Find Articles

Search for Articles

To access article databases from from the Library home page, click on "Articles and More" under "Additional Resources" to see a list of choices. OR Search the following databases specifically for articles on your topic. 

  • Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, including more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, with 4,400 peer-reviewed journals among them.
  • CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important current issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
  • Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand crucial issues we face today offers in-depth articles on over 800 hot topics.

Too many results? Narrow your search to Full text on the results page. Limit to Peer reviewed to display only articles that were vetted by experts in the field.

Creating Citations for Articles

Citing resources is an important part of your work! Here are examples in MLA style. For more on MLA, visit Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab)

Basic format for an Article in a Magazine

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical Day Month Year: pages. Medium of publication.

Article in a Newspaper

Cite a newspaper article as you would a magazine article, but note the different pagination in a newspaper. If there is more than one edition available for that date (as in an early and late edition of a newspaper), identify the edition following the date (e.g., 17 May 1987, late ed.).

A Review

Provide performance and/or publication information at the end if relevant.

Review Author. "Title of Review (if there is one)." Rev. of Performance Title, by Author/Director/Artist. Title of Periodical day month year: page. Medium of publication.

An Article in a Scholarly Journal

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication.

Web entries should follow a similar format.

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication. Web. Date Mo. Year.

Off-Campus Access

If accessing a database off-campus you will be required to sign in with the same user name and password you use to access the student portal.

Electronic Journals on Human Sexuality

Use the links below to browse articles within a specific journal:

Biology of sex differences   

Journal of sex research  

Journal of sex & marital therapy 

Sex education 

Sex roles  

Click here for more journals related to Human Sexuality