Humanities 102 Renaissance - Modern West - Humanities - Keith Jensen

Get Organized

Start off on the right foot with these tips:

Choose a Topic

What do you find interesting?

What are you curious about?

Does the topic meet the requirements of the assignment?

Is the topic too narrow or too broad?

Explore an Idea

Look for ideas in your textbook, the table of contents of books, your syllabus, or your instructor.

Skim an encyclopedia article.

Watch a short video.

Create a Plan

What is the scope of the project?

How much time do you have?

How much information is needed?

What type of information is needed?

Gather Information

Use a variety of resources: reference books, specific books, articles, documentaries, primary sources, reputable websites...

Organize Sources

Organizing your resources will help you write your paper, create accurate citations, and avoid plagiarism.

Organize Information

Organizing information will help you identify gaps in your research and create a project that makes sense and flows. Try an outline, mind map, sticky notes, index cards, or an app.

Mona Lisa (Leonardo Da Vinci)

Portrait of Christina Kahlo (Frida Kahlo)

Marconi Wireless Telegraph (Byron Company)

Compartment C, Car 293 (Edward Hopper)

View Streaming Videos

Videos are a quick and fun way to learn about a topic. Use them as visual aides in presentations or speeches. These resources are recommended for topics related to the Humanities.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a multidisciplinary streaming video library of 20,000+ multidisciplinary titles. Harper's access includes Nursing videos.

Reference Ebooks

Reference books provide basic, background information in a quick, accessible format. These resources are recommended for topics related to the Humanities.

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Museum Websites

Look for Articles

Databases are easy to search and contain articles from thousands of journals, magazines, and newspapers. These resources are recommended for topics related to the Humanities.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window This comprehensive resource comprises an exceptional collection of richly illustrated books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window Bloomsbury Cultural History is an interactive online resource providing students, researchers, and scholars with exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s ground-breaking Cultural Histories series. Comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections Bloomsbury Cultural History presents essential content within a single, fully cross-searchable platform.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window From Alvar Aalto to virtual reality design, and from authoritative reference information to innovative scholarly research, the Bloomsbury Design Library provides unrivalled coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Including a fast-expanding range of full-text content and images, underpinned by a specially developed taxonomy, the Bloomsbury Design Library is an invaluable resource for students, academics and researchers in Visual Arts and Design.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window Provides an overview of world history, covering the most-studied events, cultures, civilizations, religions, people, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window Provide access to a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Look for Ebooks

Easy-to-access books on a variety of topics.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window An online electronic library covering a wide variety of topics and subjects. You can search by author, title or subject from among nearly 50,000 titles.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Focused on the academic and trade information needs, this multidisciplinary collection contains tens of thousands of e-books with content spanning a range of topics, programs, and fields of study, varying from introductory/ basic content to higher-level content, and includes the latest titles from the leading academic publishers and university presses all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eRead Illinois This link opens in a new window eRead Illinois is a collection of thousands of fiction and non-fiction ebooks and audiobooks. Users can read online or download materials to their devices.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window With its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Humanities - Keith Jensen: Humanities 102 Renaissance - Modern West