Skip to Main Content

Humanities - Keith Jensen: Humanities 101 Topics

This guide is for students in Keith Jensen's 101 and 102 Humanities classes.

Early Christian Art

Early Christian Art and Architecture
The Columbia Encyclopedia

Byzantine Art

Stonehenge

Stonehenge
The Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained
Stonehenge
Hidden Religion: The Greatest Mysteries and Symbols of the World's Religious Beliefs
Stonehenge
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
Stonehenge
Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Valley of the Kings

Valley of the KIngs
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Valley of the Kings
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

Troy, Knossos, Mycenae

Knossos
Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
Knossos
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Troy
Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students
Troy
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Mycenae
Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students
Mycenae and the Mycenaeans
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

Gargoyles

Gargoyle
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters

Persepolis

Persepolis
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Persepolis
The Routledge Handbook of the Peoples and Places of Ancient Western Asia: The Near East from the Early Bronze Age to the fall of the Persian Empire
Persepolis, Susa, and Ecbatana
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set

Cave Paintings

Cave Paintings (Chauvet)
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set
Lascaux Cave
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture
Prehistoric Cave Art Found at Lascaux
Science and Its Times
The Legacy of Cave Paintings
Science and Its Times
Origins of Art
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion

Hagia Sophia/Aya Sofya

Hagia Sophia
The Classical Tradition
Aya Sofya
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa(
Hagia Sophia
Key Buildings from Prehistory to the Present

Roman Painting Styles

Roman Painting
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras

The Olympic Games

Games, Greek
Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students
Olympic Games
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
The First Olympic Games
Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History

Pyramids at Giza

Pyramids at Giza
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set
The Great Pyramid of Giza is Built
Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History
Fourth Dynasty Architecture and History
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Technology and Engineering: Building the Pyramids
World Eras
Giza
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students

Religious Ritual in Mesopotamian Culture

Mesopotamian Religions: History of Study
Encyclopedia of Religion
Ancient Religions of Egypt and Mesopotamia
World Religions Reference Library

New Kingdom Temples at Luxor

Luxor
The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Luxor
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt