Search the databases below to find empirical studies, case studies, scholarly peer reviewed journal articles and book chapters on numerous topics in psychology and related disciplines.
To locate empiricial studies or case studies in either of these databases, click "Advanced Search". Toward the bottom of the page you will find a space to limit the "Methodology". Highlight the type of study your are looking for before entering your search terms. This will limit your results to only include studies that use the methods you need.
Too many results?
Limit your search to full text on the left-hand side of the results page for instant access. You can also limit to peer-reviewed which will display only those articles that have been appraised and approved by experts in the field. Add additional search terms to further narrow your topic such as specific populations (men, women, elderly, adolescents, etc.) or factors (stress, trauma, smoking, weather, etc.).
Too few results?
You may want to broaden your search topic or try using synonyms for the search terms. Try using a multidisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete which covers a broader range of topics outside psychology if you are looking at a multidisplinary topic such as business or health psychology.
Citing resources in APA style is an important part of your work! For more APA examples, visit Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) for print and electronic resource examples.
Journal Articles with DOI Assigned
Article From an Online Periodical with DOI Assigned
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. doi:0000000/000000000000 or http://dx.doi.org/10.0000/0000
Journal Articles without DOI Assigned
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number. Retrieved from http://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/
Article from a Database
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Often encyclopedias and dictionaries do not provide bylines (authors' names). When no byline is present, move the entry name to the front of the citation. Provide publication dates if present or specify (n.d.) if no date is present in the entry.
Feminism. (n.d.). In Encyclopædia Britannica online. Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/724633/feminism
Article in a Magazine
Author, A.A. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range.
Article in a Newspaper
Unlike other periodicals, p. or pp. precedes page numbers for a newspaper reference in APA style. Single pages take p., e.g., p. B2; multiple pages take pp., e.g., pp. B2, B4 or pp. C1, C3-C4. If article was found online, add Retrieved from url... at the end of the entry.
Author, A.A. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of newspaper, page range.
Click the links below to find articles on each topic. You can also enter these terms directly into the search boxes of the database of your choosing. Try different combinations of these and other terms to find more results or to narrow in on your topic.
Human Capital AND Organizational Effectiveness
Human Capital AND Leadership
Industrial and Organizational Psychology
If accessing a database off-campus you will be required to sign in with the same user name and password you use to access myHarper.