Spring Book Club Medicine in Translationcurrent book clubThe Book
This is the "Welcome!" page of the "LCC Reading Room" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Learning & Career Center - Harper Library Branch
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2015 URL: http://libguides.harpercollege.edu/LCCReadingRoom Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome! Print Page

LCC Reading Room


Mondays – Thursdays

9am – 1 pm & 4pm - 8:30pm
The Reading Room is open only during the regular semester.



Learning & Career Center (formerly NEC)
1375 Wolf Road, Prospect Heights, 60070



Please phone us at 847-925-6000 x2486

Find Your Local Public Library

The information in this locator comes from the Public Libraries Survey for Fiscal Year 2009, which was conducted by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). 

A public library is an entity that is established under state enabling laws or regulations to serve a community, district, or region, and that provides at least the following:

  • An organized collection of printed or other library materials, or a combination thereof;
  • Paid staff;
  • An established schedule in which services of the staff are available to the public;
  • The facilities necessary to support such a collection, staff, and schedule; and
  • Is supported in whole or in part with public funds.

Use the link below to find your Local Public Library!



About Us

9:00am - 1:00PM, 4:00PM to 8:30PM
Refreshments, Prizes, Collection Overviews and More!


This guide was developed to highlight resources for the patrons and visitors of the LCC Reading Room - Welcome!

What's Here?

  • Helpful librarians, always ready to answer  questions
  • Popular children’s books
  • Reference collection of encyclopedias, atlases and bilingual dictionaries 
  • Popular magazines and journals in Spanish and English
  • Paperback exchange
  • Select collection of ESL books including ESL readers
  • GED test preparation books
  • Electronic journals and databases
  • Computer/Internet access with MS Office software on select  computers
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Main campus library books available upon request
  • The daily Chicago Tribune

 Bring your Harper ID! 

·       Materials available for checkout for current Harper students, faculty and staff only

·       Children under age 14 must be accompanied by an adult.



  • Los bibliotecarios están siempre dispuestos a ayudar y contestar sus preguntas 
  • Libros populares para niños  
  • Amplia Colección de enciclopedias, atlas y diccionarios bilingües 
  • Diarios y revistas populares en español e inglés 
  • Intercambio de libros encuadernados 
  • Seleccionada colección de libros de ESL incluyendo  la serie de ESL Readers 
  • Libros para prepararse para el examen  de GED 
  • Diarios electrónicos y bases de datos 
  • Acceso a computadora e internet ciertas computadoras tienen el programa  de MS Office  
  • Internet  inalámbrico  gratis  
  • Libros de la biblioteca principal de  Harper están disponibles a petición
  • Identificación de Harper requerida: unicamente estudiantes inscritos en Harper pueden sacar libros de la biblioteca
  • Niños  menores de 14 años  tienen que estar acompañados por un adulto.


Upcoming Events at The Reading Room

All events are free and open to the public.

Please join us for the following free programs at the Reading Room, Room 104, made possible through a generous grant from the America Library Association, The National Endowment for the Humanities and PBS.

Dia de Los Muertos / Day of the Dead
 October 19th through November 5th
Stop by the Reading Room to have a hands-on Field Museum experience of your very own!  October 19th through November 5th the Reading Room will host a very special box full of  artifacts from the Field Museum's Harris collection pertaining to Dia de Los Muertos.
Whoops!  These programs have already passed.  Keep an eye here to see what we'll have next!
LATINO AMERICANS PBS SERIES Screening and Discussion 
Led by Kathy Ladell
Wednesday, September 9, 6:30PM
Thursday, September 10, 6:30PM
The Reading Room will host a community screening of "Latino Americans: 500 Years of History", followed by a panel discussion with latin American Studies Librarian Kathy Ladell.  Come to one or both!
Refreshments will be provided.
Performing Arts of Mexico, Featuring MARIACHI AMECA
Monday, September 14, 6:30PM
Please join us at the LCC as we welcome Mariachi Ameca!  Food and drinks will be provided.
If possible please register by stopping at the Reading Room Reference desk / calling us at 847-925-6000 x2486 / or emailing us at dculhane@harpercollege.edu or oarellan@harpercollege.edu




    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Harper College Library

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Donna Culhane

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Oscar A. Arellano

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Christine Kuffel

    Loading  Loading...