LibGuides: Fashion Studies: Magazine and Journal Databases

Best databases for searching history topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor This link opens in a new window The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window This business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window Fashion Snoops service brands, retailers, and manufacturers in fashion, accessories, home decor, beauty, media, marketing, and other consumer-facing industries, empowering them to act on future trends.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Tutorials

Ebsco Databases -- Local Databses
This video was part of a Harper History class presentation.
Ebscohost tutorials
This page contains several tutorials on searching Ebscohost databases such as Academic Search Complete, MAS Ultra, MasterFILE Premier, OmniFile, and Business Source Elite.
Global Newstream Help Page
JSTOR -- Local Video
This video was used in a Harper history class explaining JSTOR
JSTOR Tutorial