LibGuides: Cannabis Science, Therapeutics and Policy: Background Information

What is background information?

Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.

Suggested Background Information Databases

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Encyclopædia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Membership also includes access to research tools, Merriam-Webster’s dictionary and thesaurus, and rich multimedia.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Salem Press provides a wide variety of reference ebooks on topics such as history, literature, science, health and careers.

Cannabis / Marijuana Background Information

Medline Plus: Marijuanna
Basic information from the National Library of Medicine.
History and Legality of Cannabis (CREDO database)
Encyclopedia article entitled "History and Legality of Cannabis" from the book entitled "Fast facts about medical cannabis and opioids: minimizing opioid use through cannabis"
Cannabis Sativa (Gale Ebooks database)
Encyclopedia article entitled "Cannabis Sativa" from the Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior.
Criminalizing Cannabis (Salem Press database)
Encyclopedia article entitled "Criminalizing Cannabis" from the encyclopedia entitled Opinions Throughout History – Drug Use & Abuse.

Mind Map - Marijuana

Credo Reference - Marijuana

CREDO Tutorial

Length: 3:07. Hit play and then watch full screen or on YouTube.