LibGuides: Library and Information Literacy Instruction: Online Learning Materials

Note: You do not have to use the online learning materials. If you'd prefer to skip directly to working with a librarian, fill out our Instructional Request Form.

What kind of online learning materials are collected here?

Materials include videos, tutorials, and readings created or collected by Harper librarians. They cover a range of information literacy and research skills students may need to complete assignments.

How do I know what online learning materials would be useful?

Take a few minutes to consider: What skills or tools do students need to complete assignments in your course?
Use the tabs above to find resources on your own to meet student needs (i.e., Research Process, Using Tools, etc.)
Not sure? Fill out our Instructional Request Form and a librarian can help.

What do I do once I find materials?

Share the resources in your course. If you need help adding materials to Blackboard, see the Academy's videos about adding web links or using the content editor. Librarians can also assist.
We strongly recommend incentivizing students to read or watch the materials (e.g., tracking views, giving a quiz on the materials, etc.), as it greatly improves the likelihood students will complete it.
If it makes sense for your course, pair online materials with Student Research Appointments or Instruction with a Librarian to ensure students get personalized support.

I can't find what I need!

Librarians can help! Email us at lrcrefdk@harpercollege.edu.

Introduction/Getting Started

Top 5 Ways the Library Can Help You Succeed Quick video introduction to some of the Library's most valuable services and materials.
Research Assistance at the Harper College Library Describes options for getting research help from Harper librarians.
How to Ask a Question at the Harper College Library Walks through the process of asking a question in person and online. (2:12)
How to Make an Appointment with a Harper Librarian This short video shows students how to request a one-on-one research appointment with a librarian.
Research as Conversation Explains how research is part of the scholarly conversation and how student work fits in. From the University of Alaska Anchorage Consortium Library. (3:03)

Evaluation

Evaluating Information Sources, using TRAAP Video from the Australian National University Library that describes the TRAAP test method for evaluating sources. (3:55)

Evaluating Information Using TRAAP Document using the TRAAP guidelines to teach evaluating sources. (3 pages)

Topics and Search Strategies

Slides from Library: Developing a Research Question
Slides created by the Library teaching students how to develop a research question. Feel free to modify if you want to use these yourself, or ask for a librarian to lead the lesson for your class.

Choosing and Refining a Topic Discusses how to select and refine a topic as a part of the research process. From North Carolina State University Libraries. (3:10)
Using Keywords to Search Describes how to come up with keywords for searching based on your research question, using Harper Library resources to demonstrate. (2:41)
One Perfect Source? Video from NCSU Libraries that addresses how you probably won't find one perfect source that addresses all aspects of your question, but you can use multiple sources in combination to support your exploration. (2:09)
Basic Search Tips for a Library Database This video from the Harper College Library outlines the basic research process, using Academic Search Complete. (3:07)

Scholarly/Peer Review

Limiting to Scholarly Articles in Library Databases Demonstrates how to limit to articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in several databases at the Harper College Library. (1:24)
Peer Review in 3 Minutes Video from the North Carolina State University Libraries that describes the peer review process and how it is used. (3:15)
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article Explains the idea of scholarly articles, discusses how they are commonly structured, and gives tips for reading them. From the North Carolina State University Libraries. (4:47)

General Database "How To"

Finding Databases at Harper This video describes the process of navigating the Harper College Library site to find databases.
Logging in to Harper's Resources Video describing how to log in to Harper Library resources from off campus. (1:27)

Specific Databases

Academic Search Complete Shows the basics of using Academic Search Complete at Harper. (7:02)
Business Source - Basic Searching on EBSCOhost Vendor-created video discussing using the basic search functions in Business Source Complete.
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Vendor-created video describing how to do basic searching in CINAHL, including using Evidence-Based Care Sheets. (3:18)
CQ Researcher Vendor-created video describing the basic process of searching CQ Researcher, a database of pro/con, debatable topics. (2:28)
Creativebug Demonstration from the Harper Library of how to use the Creativebug database. (7:29)
DSM-5 Harper-created video about how to use the electronic DSM-5 database. (4:28)
EBSCOhost Advanced Searching Vendor-created video describing how to use the advanced search function in EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Complete (2:38)
EBSCOhost Basic Searching Vendor-created video describing how to do a basic search in EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Complete (2:12)
EBSCOhost Result List Vendor-created video explaining how to navigate search results and use search limiters (3:39)
ERIC (Education) How to use ERIC, which is our largest database for Education and related fields. (5:57)
Issues & Controversies Overview Video Vendor created video providing an overview of how to use the Issues and Controversies database. (5:41)
JSTOR Demonstrates how to search JSTOR through Harper. (3:44)
MLA Handbook Plus Harper-created video about using the MLA Handbook Plus database for help with citing and basic writing skills. (8:19)
One Search Basics Demonstrates how to search using the Harper College Library's One Search tool. (4:42)

Plagiarism/Academic Integrity

Understanding Plagiarism at Harper Video from the Harper College Library that defines plagiarism, explains potential consequences at Harper, helps students identify common types of plagiarism, and explains options for help. (5:26)
Plagiarism Quiz This quiz is designed to pair with the "Understanding Plagiarism at Harper" video. The quiz can be used as a self-test or for credit.
Academic Honesty Introduces the concept of academic honesty in many forms, not just plagiarism. From Northeastern Illinois University. (1:34)

General Citation

Getting Citations from Library Databases Describes the process of getting formatted citations from Library databases. (1:41)
Citing Your Sources: MLA and APA Style
This guide from the Harper Library covers the basics of citing and links to more helpful resources.

Annotated Bibliographies

Creating an Annotated Bibliography Video from the Harper Library explaining what an annotated bibliography is and giving some directions for creating one.
Annotated Bibliography: A How To Guide Page from Knox College describing how to create an annotated bibliography. It includes a video and examples.

MLA Style (Modern Language Association)

How Library Stuff Works: MLA Citations This video from McMaster University describes the basics of creating an MLA citation for a Works Cited page and in the text of an essay. (3:38)
MLA Style: In-Text Citations Describes the process of citing sources within the body of an essay. From the OWL at Purdue University. (3:26)

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window MLA Handbook Plus, published by the MLA, is the only authorized subscription resource featuring the full text of the new, ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. It will be available to an unlimited number of simultaneous users at subscribing institutions, who can connect via IP, EZ Proxy, or Open Athens. The site is fully searchable and optimized for desktop, tablet, and mobile devices on all standard browsers. We’ve added features that enhance the content of the handbook, including split-view and large-view features for figures; the ability to scroll through content in MLA Handbook Plus in intuitive sections that are shorter than a print chapter; and search filters that allow users to quickly find the most relevant information and the hundreds of works-cited-list examples listed by format in the handbook’s appendix. The site also includes access to MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and will soon include a companion video course series—with quizzes and assessments—that will make teaching MLA style easier than it’s ever been.

APA Style (American Psychological Association)

Introduction to Citation Styles: APA 7th Edition This video outlines the basics of APA style. From the California State University Dominguez Hills Library. (3:00)
APA Demystified in 5 Minutes This video gives a quick overview of both formatting and citing in APA Style 7th Edition. From the Purdue Global Writing Center. (5:42)

Turabian Style

How to Cite in Chicago/Turabian Style: A Three Minute Tutorial This video from Conestoga Community College outlines the basics of Turabian/Chicago style. (2:51)

AMA Style (American Medical Association)

AMA Style: 11th Edition This video from a librarian covers the basics of AMA. (8:23)
AMA Referencing From University of Notre Dame Australia Library, this guide is extremely detailed with a lot of examples and even a tutorial students can complete.

AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have guide for anyone involved in medical and scientific publishing. The site has relaunched with a brand new look and feel and enhanced functionality. Our aim is to ensure the site continues to deliver the highest quality content, in an easy-to-use way, helping you find the information you need to produce well-organized and authoritative articles and research papers.

Harper College Research Guides
Harper College librarians have created curated resources in a variety of Harper disciplines. Guides link to both Library resources as well as other free sites that might be useful for students researching in a specific discipline. They may also include directions, tips for searching, and other help materials. Look for the Guide relating to the subject of your course to share with students.

Specific Disciplines

Nursing: Types of Research This video describes Evidence-Based Practice and what kind of evidence is needed. From the Northern Kentucky University Library. (4:51)
Finding Evidence Based Practice Materials in CINAHL Demonstrates how to use the "Evidence Based Practice" limiter in CINAHL. (1:00)
Researching Latin American History Covers the variety of sources and strategies for researching Latin American history at Harper.

Career Research

Career Exploration: Occupational Outlook Handbook This video demonstrates the process of browsing and searching for occupational information on the website of the Occupational Outlook Handbook. From GCFLearnFree.org. (3:14)
Researching an Occupation with O*Net OnLine This video from the Harper College Library demonstrates how to use O*Net OnLine to browse and search for occupational information. (2:53)
Career and Industry Research Using Academic Search Complete This video from the Harper College Library demonstrates how to use Academic Search Complete to research a career or industry, including how to access the database and get a citation for an article. (3:32)