Humanities 120 Classical Mythology - Humanities - Keith Jensen

Best Bets for Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a multidisciplinary streaming video library of 20,000+ multidisciplinary titles. Harper's access includes Nursing videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.

General Information

Below is general information to help support your understanding of the content of this project.

Heinrich Schliemann

Heinrich Schliemann
(Encyclopedia of World Biography: Vol. 14. 2nd ed.)
Heinrich Schliemann
(Science and Its Times)
Schliemann, Heinrich
(International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Vol. 7. 2nd ed.)
Schliemann, Heinrich
(Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography: Vol. 12.)

Troy

Curating the Legend of Troy
Article from Columbia magazine
Great images
The Discovery of Troy
(Science and Its Times)
The Fall of Troy
Full video
Priam Suspect - Myths about Ancient Troy Collide with Reality at the British Museum
Article from Apollo magazine
Great images
The Search for the Lost City of Troy
Article from the British Museum
Troy
(Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students: (Vol. 4.)
Troy
(The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students: Vol. 4)
Troy - "blueprints"
Plans and drawings of Troy from Bryn Mawr College
Troy: Battlefield of Myth and Truth
Full video
Troy: Myth and Reality
From the British Museum
Includes exhibition highlights

The Trojan War

In Search of the Trojan War
6-part series
The Trojan War
A short video segment
The Trojan War
(Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History: Vol. 4: Europe)

Iliad

The Great Greek Myths - Iliad
10-part series
Iliad
(Epics for Students)
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace: Iliad
Trojan War and Homer's "The Iliad"
A short video segment

Homer

Homer
(Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students: Vol. 2)
Homer
(Arts and Humanities Through the Eras: Vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.)
Homer: Famous People, Incredible Lives
Full video

Helen of Troy

Helen of Troy from Homer to Hollywood
ebook available through Harper College Library
Troy: The Passion of Helen
Full video

Inspiration

Helen of Troy coin

The Trojan War by JP Munro

The Procession of the Trojan Horse into Troy by Giovanni Domenico Tiepolo

Film Choices and Related Information

The first section contains links to obtain the film. The second section contains information about the film.

Film Choices

You can borrow a DVD player from the Library.

Agamemnon (Sir Peter Hall)
DVD available at Harper College Library
Helen of Troy (John Kent Harrison)
DVD available at Harper College Library
Helen of Troy (Robert Wise)
Click on the title to request through interlibrary loan
Iphigenia (Michael Cacoyannis)
DVD available at Harper College Library
The Odyssey (Andrei Mikhalkov-Konchalivskii)
DVD available at Harper College Library
The Trojan Women (Michael Cacoyannis)
DVD available at Harper College Library
Troy (Wolfgang Petersen)
DVD available at Harper College Library

Information about Film Choices

"Page and Stage": Theater, Tradition, and Culture in America
Article by Peter Meineck
General information
Agamemnon in Performance 458 BC to AD 2004
The Ancient Classical World from Film to Television
General information
From Stella to Iphigenia: The Woman-Centered Films of Michael Cacoyannis
Greek tragedy in modern times: Cacoyannis, Pasolini--and Enoch Powell
Heroes
(Petersen's Troy)
An Interview with Robert Wise
Men and Myth
(Petersen's Troy)
Modern Performance and Adaptation of Greek Tragedy
General information
Myth Making
(Harrison's Helen of Troy)
The Neuroscience of the Tragic Mask
Article by Peter Meineck
General information
The Trojan Women (Michael Cacoyannis)
Film review available through interlibrary loan

Book/Play Choices and Related Information

The first section contains links to obtain the title. The second section contains information about the title.

Book/Play Choices

Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde
ebook available through Harper College Library (An Introduction to Geoffrey Chaucer by Tison Pugh)
Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
Click on the title to request through interlibrary loan
The Firebrand by Marion Zimmer Bradley
Click on the title to request through interlibrary loan
Goethe's Iphigenie auf Taurus/Iphigenia in Tauris
Translation by Anna Swanwick
Available from Project Gutenberg
The History of Troilus and Cressida by William Shakespeare
ebook available through Harper College Library
Ilium by Dan Simmons
Book available at Harper College Library
Omeros by Derek Walcott
Book available at Harper College Library
Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood
Audiobook (CDs) available at Harper College Library
Racine's Iphigenia (audio)
Translated by Robert Bruce Boswell
Available from Internet Archive
LibriVox recording
Racine's Iphigenia (print)
Translated by Robert Bruce Boswell
Available from Internet Archive
The Seven Sisters by Margaret Drabble
Click on the title to request through interlibrary loan
The Song of Troy by Colleenn McCullough
Click on the title to request through interlibrary loan
There Will Be No Trojan War/The Trojan War Will Not Take Place/Tiger at the Gates (Jean Giraudoux)
Click the title to request through interlibrary loan
Ulysses by James Joyce
ebook available through Harper College

Humanities - Keith Jensen: Humanities 120 Classical Mythology