LibGuides: Academic Areas of Interest: Art, Design, & Performing Arts

Welcome!

The Library supports the fields of Art, Design & Performing Arts by providing an expansive collection of books, journals and media. Use the following resources for your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Online videos
ARTstor This link opens in a new window The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window The new academic streaming source for the best in social issue and documentary film. Exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution including: Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, Fanlight, Collective Eye and Kartemquin Films. Over 430 titles, and growing!
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window An online electronic library covering a wide variety of topics and subjects. You can search by author, title or subject from among nearly 50,000 titles.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Focused on the academic and trade information needs, this multidisciplinary collection contains tens of thousands of e-books with content spanning a range of topics, programs, and fields of study, varying from introductory/ basic content to higher-level content, and includes the latest titles from the leading academic publishers and university presses all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a multidisciplinary streaming video library of 20,000+ multidisciplinary titles. Harper's access includes Nursing videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Naxos Sheet Music delivers digital sheet music. Library users download and print their own copies of sheet music from our catalog of over 40,000 works.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Search the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog with keywords related to your program, and retrieve print and electronic books and/or media.

2. Check out items at ether library desk, located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of building F.

3. Looking for more? Follow the steps below to request items through I-Share. I-Share is a FREE service for Harper students, and only takes a few days for items to arrive. When your items arrive you'll receive an email indicating that you can pick up your items at the 2nd floor desk.

Art, Design, & Performing Arts

ARCHITECTURE STUDIES
ART AND DESIGN
FASHION STUDIES
GRAPHIC ARTS TECHNOLOGY
INTERIOR DESIGN
MUSIC
THEATRE ARTS
WEB DEVELOPMENT

Schedule a one-on-one research consultation,
Connect with a librarian via live chat,
Phone us at 847-925-6769, or
Visit building F to experience your library!

Kim Heinz, Librarian, Professor
Library Liaison to: Art, Design & Performing Arts / Liberal Arts, Language & Communication
Phone: 847-925-6882
E-mail: kfournie@harpercollege.edu
Office: F148