LibGuides: Academic Areas of Interest: Manufacturing & Construction

Welcome!

The Library supports the fields of Manufacturing & Construction by providing an expansive collection of books, journals and media. Use the following resources for your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window This business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Daily Herald (Chicago) This link opens in a new window Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a multidisciplinary streaming video library of 20,000+ multidisciplinary titles. Harper's access includes Nursing videos.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window An online electronic library covering a wide variety of topics and subjects. You can search by author, title or subject from among nearly 50,000 titles.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Focused on the academic and trade information needs, this multidisciplinary collection contains tens of thousands of e-books with content spanning a range of topics, programs, and fields of study, varying from introductory/ basic content to higher-level content, and includes the latest titles from the leading academic publishers and university presses all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.

Search the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog with keywords related to your program, and retrieve print and electronic books and/or media.

2. Check out items at ether library desk, located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of building F.

3. Looking for more? Follow the steps below to request items through I-Share. I-Share is a FREE service for Harper students, and only takes a few days for items to arrive. When your items arrive you'll receive an email indicating that you can pick up your items at the 2nd floor desk.