LibGuides: Academic Areas of Interest: Social Science

Welcome!

The Library supports the fields of Social Science by providing an expansive collection of books, journals and media. Use the following resources for your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Credo Reference contains more than 700 full-text reference books covering all subjects.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window The new academic streaming source for the best in social issue and documentary film. Exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution including: Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, Fanlight, Collective Eye and Kartemquin Films. Over 430 titles, and growing!
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window An online electronic library covering a wide variety of topics and subjects. You can search by author, title or subject from among nearly 50,000 titles.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Focused on the academic and trade information needs, this multidisciplinary collection contains tens of thousands of e-books with content spanning a range of topics, programs, and fields of study, varying from introductory/ basic content to higher-level content, and includes the latest titles from the leading academic publishers and university presses all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a multidisciplinary streaming video library of 20,000+ multidisciplinary titles. Harper's access includes Nursing videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window With Gale Virtual Reference Library, you can adapt your reference collection to your student's changing needs by providing them with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles - eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
National Geographic Magazine This link opens in a new window The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Select includes the full-text records of the following 11 Wilson databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ScienceDirect: Social & Behavioural Sciences Journals This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect helps researchers gain knowledge, generate more ideas and answer their most pressing questions in less time.

Search the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog with keywords related to your program, and retrieve print and electronic books and/or media.

2. Check out items at ether library desk, located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of building F.

3. Looking for more? Follow the steps below to request items through I-Share. I-Share is a FREE service for Harper students, and only takes a few days for items to arrive. When your items arrive you'll receive an email indicating that you can pick up your items at the 2nd floor desk.